Patrick Pollak

Antiquarian and Rare Books, Manuscripts, Images and
Related Items

Back


 Click on an image to enlarge it. Click an enlarged image to view the previous/next image. 

[DARWIN, Charles].
Glenridding House, Ullswater, September 1871 - a group of 6 albumen print photographs, one of them thus titled, all approx. 21 x 16 cms.

They show a party of 9 gentlefolk and a servant, playing croquet on the lawn in front of the house [x3], picnicing on the lawn [x1] and boating on the lake [x2].

Description:
All in excellent condition, a little faded at the edges, mounted on card [NOT EX LIBRIS RICHARD FREEMAN].

*There is no information as to the identities of the people shown and the connection to Charles Darwin is to Glenridding House itself. There is a full description of the Darwin family's first visit to Glenridding House in June and July 1881 in a paper by H. P. MOON Archive of Natural History (1982) 10 (3): pp. 509-514. The Darwins's first visit to the Lake District was in 1879 when they stayed in Coniston and were visited there by John Ruskin - see H. E. LITCHFIELD Century of Family Letters, v.II, p.299, 1904 - 'On August 2nd, 1879, I see the entry in her diary : 'Fine, set out to Coniston.' This tells of the beginning of a month in the Lakes - A particularly delightful month to both my father and mother. My father enjoyed the journey with the freshness of a boy.......... Another interest and pleasure in this stay was their making friends with Ruskin.' Henrietta Litchfield writes again, of their subsequent visit to the Lakes [Century of Family Letters, v.II, pp.316-317] - 'On June 2nd we all went to a house at Patterdale taken for a month. I think this second visit was nearly as full of enjoyment as the first. It was an especial happiness to my mother for the rest of her life to remember her little strolls with my father by the side of the lake.' Charles Darwin wrote to Hooker from Glenridding House, June 15th. 1881 - 'I am rather despondent about myself. and my troubles are of an exactly opposite nature to yours, for idleness is downright misery to me, as I find here, as I cannot forget my discomfort for an hour.' [DARWIN and SEWARD. More Letters of Charles Darwin, 1903, p.433]. Returning from Glenridding to Down, he wrote to Wallace, July 12th. 1881 - 'We have just returned after spending five weeks on Ullswater. The scenery is quite charming, but I cannot walk, and everything tires me ........' [MARCHANT. Alfred Russell Wallace Letters, 1913, v.I, p.319]. Darwin died less than a year later, on the 19th. April, 1882.

Date Published:

Stock No. 62554

Price: 750.00

Enquire